The Student News Site of Fluvanna County High School
Throne of Glass is the Opposite of Trash

“Throne of Glass” is the Opposite of Trash

March 21, 2022

5/5 (1)

Don't Forget to Leave a Like

Throne of Glass, written by Sarah J. Maas, is a fantasy book that follows the story of 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothian. The story begins with the captain of the guard traveling to the salt mines where Celaena is currently working as a slave. Celaena is taken to the glass castle where she is offered freedom in exchange for becoming the king’s champion. This means that whoever wins will then become the king’s assassin and do his bidding.

However, in order to earn her freedom, Celaena has to fight in competition with others in order to become the king’s champion, and these other competitors will do anything to win. All the while Celaena is fighting for her freedom, evil is lurking in the castle, affecting competitors and putting Celaena in danger.

I absolutely loved Throne of Glass. I devoured every page of this book as quickly as I could. Even though Throne of Glass was Maas’ first book, I read it after reading the rest of her books, such as A Court of Thorns and Roses and Crescent City. I loved those books and I’d heard about her other series, but I had some doubts. I thought that after falling in love with her other books that when I read Throne of Glass it either wouldn’t live up to the hype or it wouldn’t be as amazing as I hoped.

After the first chapter, I knew I was wrong. I read every page with interest, whether engrossed in the descriptions of the different trials of the competition or worrying about what was going to happen next. This book had me on the edge of my seat with every word and every page. The moment I finished reading, I immediately picked up the next book in the series.

I love Celaena as a character because she’s confident in herself and wicked clever. She has become a comfort character of mine. Celaena also shows her emotions in a way that is relatable, which is what helped me fall in love with her character. If you like the Hunger Games but wished it was more of a fantasy than a dystopian, Throne of Glass may be what you’re looking for.

Maas is the author of three series that comes to a total of fifteen books. So far, the Throne of Glass series is her only complete series with seven total books and a prequel that tells the stories of Celaena Sardothian before Throne of Glass takes place. Throne of Glass is also the first series and book that Maas wrote and she shows no signs of stopping since then. I can’t wait to read the future books that Maas has to write because I know now that I will not be disappointed.

One more thing: If you’ve decided to read Maas’s books, you need to read them in a specific way. Start with either A Court of Thorns and Roses or Throne of Glass. If you are still obsessed with her books, read Crescent City last. You’ll experience insane journeys and find yourself traveling through worlds that might just collide.

Leave a Comment
About the Contributor
Photo of Madison Fain
Madison Fain, FCHS Journalist

Madison is a senior in her third year of journalism. She plays lacrosse and work at Carters Mountain during the summer.

The Fluco Beat • Copyright 2022 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

All The Fluco Beat Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published.